The Alchemist

ssProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

353df913-8ca6-4de9-a9b0-63ac6a2fe2d2

illyriaProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with b5 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 preset

wear

I am the type of person that reads the last page of a book before I have even touched or taken a glimpse of the first page. I don’t know why I do this to myself because as I read the book and get emotionally invested in all the characters and the storyline, my brain starts to put two and two together, as result I have ruined the whole element of surprise due to my own problem of reading the last page. However,  I am currently halfway through The Alchemist (which I am obsessed with at the moment) and I proudly say that I have not yet read or touched the last page of the book, which I deserve an award for. But my fingers are itching to go to the last page just to allow my eyes to take a little glimpse.

So, as you know by now I have not yet finished The Alchemist and this will not stop me from describing how much I am obsessed with it. I first thought I would not like this book because it is not the usual genre that I tend to read, that being romance because I am a hopeless romantic. However as I began to flip more and more pages, it was clear that I was attached and hooked to all the intricacies of the book so far and in that moment I knew why.

The central character of the book, Santiago, is on an adventure to achieve his dream, that continually appeared in his sleep, which is to find jewels lying in the Pyramids of Egypt; perceived by the Gypsy which was then confirmed by Melchizedek, the King of Salem. I don’t want to go into full detail because I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone, but I guess the reason why I am hooked is because I see myself in Santiago or rather I am Santiago.

Before you continue reading, I just want to warn you that I am going to be cheesy from here on out, but I am sure you’re used to it already. So cue the cringe and be ready to look away if gets too much.  

I am also on my own personal adventure. Like Santiago, I am on an adventure to achieve a dream that has appeared in my sleep day and night, a dream that is right in front of my eyes. The scary thing about running and going after a dream that is only feasible in my eyes is that I am going in blind. I don’t know if it is going to happen; I can only hope, believe and work incredibly hard for it to be a reality, but I don’t know when it will come true or if it ever will. And I guess that’s the beauty of not knowing.

 I don’t have a lot of advice on how to achieve your dreams at the moment. But if there is one thing that I can say to you is that, whatever you dream of doing it is not ridiculous and neither is it foolish. Don’t listen to what people have to say about you and your dream, they may doubt you or they may stop believing in you, but your dream is real and it can be made real if you do it. You are the only one that can make whatever you dream of come true. So start now and not later, making the first move is always scary but from then on out, your life will change in an unexplainable way. Don’t ever give up, and if no one believes in you remember you are the first person that believed in yourself, so that is a primary reason why you should keep on going, and if no one believes in you then I do.

So to whoever that is reading this, go out and dream and make them come true. I am going to continue on reading The Alchemist without looking at the last page, but I am also going to continue on running for my dream, barefoot with a burger in my hand, because I wouldn’t be me without food.

Love,

Catherine

Leave a Reply

