MusEEK Munth #1

Music has been ingrained into my bones since the day I was born. I don’t think I have ever heard my house without music travelling through its’ walls. Music is quite essentially something that I cannot bear to live without.

My favourite genre(s) of music whether it’s summer, spring, autumn or winter is soul, RnB and hip-hop. Whether I am a sleep or awake it is highly likely that I am somehow  listening to music, even if it’s through my untrustworthy humming.

So, the artists that I have been listening to all this month and in I guess in one word, OBSESSED, with are:

KEHLANI – SWEETSEXYSAVAGE

20170130064527!Sweetsexysavage.jpg

From Cloud 19 to You Should Be Here, I have been absolutely OBSESSED with Kehlani! When Kehlani announced that she’s releasing her first full album, SweetSexySavage, it was more than just a good day.

Trying to describe how good this album is, has made me rewrite and delete words and sentences repeatedly, but in a sense the title of the album describes SweetSexySavage  perfectly; the album is sweet, sexy and savage. It is sweet in from Thank You to Hold Me By The Heart, it is sexy from I Wanna Be to Too Much and it is savage from Peace of Mind to Personal.

GALLANT – OLOGY

ec015829.jpg

I honestly don’t how I stumbled over Gallant, but I am pretty sure it must’ve been when he was on the Jimmy Fallon Show singing Weight In Gold, which changed my ears in the best way yet. Gallant is able to sing and reach notes that I don’t think were possible to do, evident through the song Skipping Stones.

Ology means any science or branch of knowledge (defined by dictionary.com), and I guess Gallant’s album Ology is a science, a branch of knowledge; as it is an album full of emotion and meaning. I don’t know if I am wrong when I say that, but it’s true, the album is a branch of knowledge of music and a science of emotion.

ALICIA KEYS – SONGS IN A MINOR

512GeuI4GRL.jpg

I am going to throw it way back, all the way to Alicia Keys’s very first album Songs in A Minor. This album came out when I was toddler, so to say I love it the day it came out would be a lie. But I stumbled over this album whilst on the plane, looking for albums and songs to add to my “sleeping” playlist, and now I haven’t stopped listening to it since. The songs in Songs in A Minor is full of soul, jazz and RnB which had me fall in love with it even further. Every song like A Woman’s Worth and Lovin’ U that is played had me lost in a world other than my own.

So that’s it!! I hope your week has been better than mine, as I am in a current state of questioning my being and purpose in life (I know it’s deep, and don’t ask me why I think of these things because that’s what I am asking myself too). I’ve also started university and I am also trying to adult, and the only words that can describe this moment is weird and uncomfortable but a good uncomfortable feeling. Sooo, have a splendid rest of the week and see y’all soooooooon .

Love,

Catherine

Leave a Reply

